LEELANAU COUNTY BOARD OF PUBLIC WORKS

Organizational Meeting - Tuesday, February 14, 2023

Approved 7/18/2023

Proceedings of the meeting are being recorded (audio and video). The video of the meeting can be found at the following link: http://leelanau.gov/meetingdetails.asp?MAId=2483#video

Call to Order:

Meeting called to Order by County Clerk Michelle L. Crocker at 1:02 p.m. Today's meeting is being held at the Government Center, 8527 E. Government Center Drive, Suttons Bay, Michigan.

Pledge of Allegiance:

The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America was recited followed by a moment of silence.

Roll Call:

Drain Commissioner County Treasurer	Steve Christensen John Gallagher, III	PRESENT PRESENT
District #1	Jamie Kramer	PRESENT
#2	James O'Rourke	PRESENT
#3	Doug Rexroat	PRESENT
#4	Ty Wessell	PRESENT
#5	Kama Ross	PRESENT
#6	Gwenne Allgaier	ABSENT (prior notice)
#7	Melinda C. Lautner	PRESENT

Public Comment:

None.

Action Items -

Election of Officers - Chairman:

County Clerk Crocker called for nominations for the position of Chairman of the Board of Public Works and stated any nomination will require a second. In the event we end up with more than one nomination, then each member will then indicate who their vote is for after nominations are closed. With a board of this size, it will take five votes to be elected Chairman.

Crocker declared nominations open.

Commissioner Wessell nominated County Treasurer John Gallagher, seconded by Commissioner Lautner.

Commissioner O'Rourke moved to close the nominations for Chairman. Seconded by Commissioner Rexroat.

Crocker called for a vote to close the nominations.

AYES – 8 (O'Rourke, Rexroat, Wessell, Ross, Lautner, Christensen, Gallagher, Kramer) NO – 0 ABSENT – 1 (Allgaier) MOTION CARRIED. Hearing no further nominations, Crocker closed nominations for Chairman.

Clerk Crocker called for all those in favor of County Treasurer Gallagher as Chairman, and the votes were as follows:

```
O'Rourke - YES; Rexroat - YES; Wessell - YES; Ross - YES; Lautner - YES; Christensen - YES; Gallagher - YES; Kramer - YES.

Yes - 8 NO - 0 ABSENT - 1 (Allgaier)
```

Crocker declared Gallagher Chairman of the Board of Public Works and turned the meeting over for the election of the remaining positions.

Vice-Chairman:

Chairman Gallagher opened nominations for Vice-Chairman.

Commissioner Wessell nominated Drain Commissioner Steve Christensen. Seconded by Lautner.

There were no further nominations.

Votes were as follows:

```
Wessell- YES; Ross - YES; Lautner - YES; Christensen - YES; Gallagher - YES; Kramer - YES; O'Rourke - YES; Rexroat - YES.

Yes - 8 NO - 0 ABSENT - 1 (Allgaier)
```

Gallagher declared Christensen Vice-Chairman of the Board of Public Works.

Secretary:

Gallagher opened nominations for Secretary.

Wessell nominated County Clerk Michelle L. Crocker, or her designee, for Secretary. Seconded by Lautner.

There being no further nominations Chairman Gallagher closed nominations for Secretary.

Votes were as follows:

```
Wessell - YES; Ross - YES; Lautner - YES; Christensen - YES; Gallagher - YES; Kramer - YES; O'Rourke - YES; Rexroat - YES.

Yes - 8 NO - 0 ABSENT - 1 (Allgaier)
```

Gallagher stated the nomination for County Clerk Michelle L. Crocker, or her designee, as Secretary passes.

Approval of Minutes – November 1, 2022:

MOTION BY WESSELL TO APPROVE THE NOVEMBER 1, 2022, MEETING MINUTES AS WRITTEN. SECONDED BY LAUTNER.

Discussion – none.

AYES – 8 (Wessell, Ross, Lautner, Christensen, Gallagher, Kramer, O'Rourke, Rexroat) NO – 0 ABSENT – 1 (Allgaier) MOTION CARRIED.

BPW Structure Discussion:

Administrator Allen gave a brief overview of the former Board of Public Works structure stating that it had been made up of the County Road Commission members. In December [2022] the Board of Commissioners approved a resolution to restructure the Board of Public Works to now consist of the full County Board of Commissioners, the Drain Commissioner, and the County Treasurer.

Commissioner Wessell said that both he and Chairman Gallagher had attended a NLTUA (Northport/Leelanau Township Utilities Authority) meeting in Leelanau Township and that there could be some potential issues and that is our charge.

Set Next Meeting Date/Future Subjects:

Chairman Gallagher stated that one of the future subjects is NLTUA, which will be being renamed. They have been operating in a deficit and have been working to address outstanding concerns. Currently they plan to bring forward a presentation at our next meeting.

Gallagher added and said the next tentative mee Commissioners Executive meeting. The agenda other subjects as they come up.	· · ·		
Additional comments from members continued.			
Public Comment: None.			
Board Member Comments: None.			
Adjournment:			
Motion to adjourn by Rexroat. Unanimous support.			
The meeting was adjourned by Chairman Gallagl	ner at 1:17 p.m.		
John A. Gallagher, III, Chairman Leelanau County Board of Public Works	Alison Middleton, Administrative Deputy Clerk for Michelle L. Crocker, Leelanau County Clerk		