

MINUTES Material Management Planning Committee

1:00 PM - Friday, November 8, 2024 2nd Floor Commission Chambers

The Material Management Planning Committee of the Grand Traverse County was held on Friday, November 8, 2024, in the 2nd Floor Commission Chambers.

1 CALL TO ORDER:

Lydia Gulow, Grand Traverse County Resource Recovery Director, called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m. on Friday, November 8, 2024, in the 2nd Floor Commission Chambers, 400 Boardman Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49684.

2 PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:

Katie Zeits led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3 ROLL CALL:

PRESENT: Jim Palmer (Waste Management), Cory Brown (Northern Disposal), Mike Bevelhymer (GFL), Sarna Salzman (SEEDS), T.J. Andrews (Grand Traverse County Commissioner), Kama Ross (Leelanau County Commissioner), Matthew Cooke (Networks Northwest)

EXCUSED: Dan Hawkins (Village of Lake Ann)

4 FIRST PUBLIC COMMENT:

a. Chris Wood, Resident of Grand Traverse County and business owner in Benzie County

By consensus, discussion regarding board membership was added to old business. Carried

5 APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Approval of Agenda

Motion: by T.J. Andrews, seconded by Sarna Salzman to approve the November 8, 2024 agenda.

Carried

6 SPECIAL ORDERS OF BUSINESS:

a.

None

7 ITEMS OF BUSINESS:

a. Introductions Overview of the Materials Management Planning Committee and Part 115 of the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act.

The following addressed the Committee:

Lydia Gulow, Grand Traverse County Resource Recovery Director Dave Schaffer, Benzie County Recycling Katie Zeits, Benzie County Administration Chris Forsyth, Grand Traverse County Administration

b. Election of Officers - Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson

Katie Zeits called for nomination.

T.J. Andrews nominated Sarna Salzman as Chair.

T.J. Andrews nominated Matthew Cooke as Vice Chair.

Nominations accepted by those nominated.

Motion: by T.J. Andrews, seconded by Kama Ross, to appoint Sarna Salzman as Chair and Matthew Cooke as Vice Chair.

Carried

Sarna Salzman took over as Chair of the meeting.

c. Review Proposed Bylaws

The following address the Committee:

Chris Forsyth, Grand Traverse County Administration

Motion: by Matthew Cooke, seconded by T.J. Andrews that the bylaws as reviewed by joint legal counsel and presented to the Committee be recommended to the Board of Commissioners of each county for consideration of approval.

Carried

d. Discussion on Consulting Services for MMP Planning, Implementation, and Public Engagement

The following addressed the Committee:

Maxwell Cameron, Grand Traverse County Community Coordinator Chris Forsyth, Grand Traverse County Administration Dave Schaffer, Benzie County Recycling

Motion: by T.J. Andrews, seconded by Kama Ross to direct staff to prepare a recommendation for the MMPC for consideration at their next meeting for moving forward with an RFQ/P to begin the process of drafting an updated plan.

Carried

e. Committee Meeting Schedule

Motion: by T.J. Andrews, seconded by Cory Brown to schedule MMPC meetings for the 2nd Friday of each month with the location to rotate between the three partnered counties, at 1:00 p.m., with additional meetings to be called as necessary.

Carried

8 OLD BUSINESS:

a. Discussion regarding membership.

The following addressed the Committee:

Dave Schaffer, Benzie County Recycling

Motion: by T.J. Andrews, seconded by Kama Ross, to direct staff to bring recommendations of members for three membership seats on the Committee to the next meeting.

Carried

9 NEW BUSINESS:

a. None

10 SECOND PUBLIC COMMENT

a. None

11 NOTICES:

The following addressed the Committee:

Chris Forsyth, Grand Traverse County Administration Sarna Salzman, SEEDS T.J. Andrews, Grand Traverse County Commissioner

12 ADJOURNMENT

a. **Motion:** by T.J. Andrews, seconded by Cory Brown to adjourn the meeting at 2:31 p.m.

Carried

Submitted respectfully,

Katelyn Zeits

County Administrator/Controller